Have You Been Called to Contend for Your Faith?

Have you ever really thought about if asked by someone what and why you believe as a Christian, how you would answer?  Today we are seeing more and more Christians worldwide being ridiculed, tortured and even killed for their faith.  In 2 Timothy 3:12 we are reminded that, “In fact, everyone who wants to live a godly life in Christ Jesus will be persecuted.”

We have also entered a world of “political correctedness”, being deemed as “judgemental” or perhaps not being tolerant of others and their beliefs.  Our children and grandchildren are being taught over and over that anything goes and everything should be left to each person individually to decide what is right and good.

I was introduced to Christian Apologetics about 15 years ago and was immediately fascinated by the subject.  I had never even heard of the word “Apologetics”.  What I have learned in the past 15 years I now desire to share with as many people that I can.

The word Apologia is a Greek word meaning, “in defense of”.  It certainly is not meaning as Christians we are to apologize for our faith.  Rather we are to Contend for our Faith on a daily basis!  According to the dictionary, the word Contend means:

to strive in debate; dispute earnestly:

to contend against falsehood.
The Bible tells us to:He Lives

“Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.  But do this with gentleness and respect.”  1 Peter 3:15

We as Christians are commanded to be able to intelligently give an answer to those who ask.  As we continue to see the moral decay in our society, it is more and more important to know God’s Word and to be able to defend His Word.  Are you prepared?

I hope that you will stick with me as I continue to share what I have learned regarding Christian Apologetics.  As a Biology major in college, I was constantly challenged to defend my faith regarding Darwin’s Evolution, spontaneous generation and the challenge that all of creation was slowly created over millions of years from slime pit!  I am sure you remember some of those Biology lessons!

Thankfully God gave me a mind to ask questions, seek the truth and to know the truth.  Won’t you join me on this quest to dig deeper into His Word to be able to intelligently defend your faith?  I promise it will be an eye-opening experience!

Visit my site Called to Contend for more information!

Leave a comment